![]() |
| |||||||
| Home | Forums | Rules | All Albums | Blogs | Subscriptions | Register | Mark Forums Read |
| HL Lounge A laid back place to discuss "Off Topic" stuff. Respect your fellow members and follow the forum rules. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #11 |
| Banned Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: /home/yurimxpxman
Posts: 1,695
| It would help if we kept everyone with an e-mail account informed of how to tell if something's legit. All they need to know is not to click the links. If something looks legit, then you can go to the website yourself to check it out. Even the URLs can be deceiving. |
| |
| | #12 |
| Hmmm... Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: NJ
Posts: 438
| I had to look twice at some of them. Went to my ebay inbox to double check - of course there's nothing in there... Wave Master: Gigabyte GA-7NNXP, Barton 3200, 1 gig PC3200, BFG 6800, Ultra X-Finity 600W, DVDRW, 750 Zip 80, 160 & 200 gig hard drives Dual Xeon folder: SilverStone SST-TJ05S-X, Gigabyte GA-9ITDW, Intel Xeon 3.2 Irwindale 800MHz x2, Geil 1 GB DDR2 PC2 4300x2, BFG 6600 GT OC, Ultra X-Finity 600W, DVDRW, Akasa AllInOne, WD Caviar RAID Edition 120x2, Win XP MC 05 |
| |
| | #13 | |
| I'm Diggin it! | Quote:
I once received an Email just like Blondie's on the previous page. So I entered the addy in the address bar and low and behold, there was a message for me. We had canceled the credit card Ebay deducted payments from. So had I of not paid with my Debit card, I had about 4 days left before they would have placed a hold on my account. I really should check my email more often! ![]() Q6600@ 3.2GHz w/ CNPS9700 | EVGA 780i | 4Gb Patriot Extreme DDR2-800 5-5-5-12 | EVGA GTX 280 1Gb Video | 1x WD 640Gb HDD, 2x Seagate 400Gb HDD, 1x250Gb WD | 2x Samsung SH-203B Opticals | Antec 900 | ABS/Tagan BZ700 700W PSU | Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller | |
| |
| | #14 | |
| T-Rex | Quote:
Besides the human in itself is incredibly unreliable, and lord knows that with good words you could make anyone say what you want to hear. *wink* | |
| |
| | #15 |
| Colonel Calamity | I get calls all the times about these. the phishers, scammers and other problematic emails. I work for an ISP as tech support so I am one that tells all these people to NEVER click these links and to always report emails to the real site (ie: spoof@paypal.com) ![]() Thanks HL and Corsair! My opinions are my own and not representative of this site or its members. |
| |
| | #16 |
| Level 2 College Student | actually ebay and paypal and everyone always says in their emails "DO NOT CLICK LINKS SENT IN EMAILS, OPEN YOUR BROWSER URL AND TYPE IN www.(website).com INSTEAD" i've even seen some scamails say that at the bottom, but offer a link to paypal.com on the bottom. lol ![]() ![]() |
| |
| | #17 |
| Functional Alcoholic | I usually get these emails in Hotmail. Since my hotmail account is in no way associated with My Ebay or Paypal, its usually pretty obvious its a fake. Another way to tell if its fake, is to login to your Paypal or Ebay account and check your messages there. If it doesn't match any of the messages in your account its FAKE. |
| |