HardwareLogic

Go Back   HardwareLogic > HL Members Area > HL Lounge
Home Forums Rules All AlbumsBlogs Subscriptions Register Mark Forums Read

HL Lounge A laid back place to discuss "Off Topic" stuff. Respect your fellow members and follow the forum rules.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old September 3rd, 2007   #11
With a pinch of insane!
 
qazwsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, 127.0.0.1
Posts: 649
Default Re: BestPoDeals, Inc @ bestpodeals.com

maybe its refurbished stock as tigerdirect is selling a 360 refurbished for a similar price Microsoft - XBOX 360 Premium System Refurbished B4J-00001 at TigerDirect.com




qazwsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007   #12
Meow means woof in cat.
 
Panda Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Elba, AL
Posts: 1,910
Default Re: BestPoDeals, Inc @ bestpodeals.com

Actually, it would be pretty cool if the dog (from MaxPC) investigated this site, wouldn't it paul? :D



Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe @ 2.80GHz
Cooler Master GeminII - Thanks Rich and HL!
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 (rev. 1.3)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB @ 726/962
CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (4 x 1GB) DDR2-800
OCZ GameXStream 600W PSU
Maxtor 300GB 7200RPM SATA150 16MB cache HDD
Seagate 500GB 7200ROM SATA300 16mb cache HDD
Sony NEC Optiarc 18X DVD±R DVD
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic 7.1
ZyXel m-202 802.11g adapter
Antec Nine Hundred
Creative 5.1 speakers
Viewsonic Optiquest q20wb 20" LCD
Panda Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007   #13
Silence..Or I kill you!
 
stinger608's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: In the Zone!
Posts: 3,001
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: BestPoDeals, Inc @ bestpodeals.com

Well scam or not, I wouldn't buy anything from them!

Here is a perfect example of how out of sink they really are.

AMD x2 5200 + $269.99

Neweggs price is $129.99:lau gh:

Um hello, whats wrong with that picture
stinger608 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007   #14
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rhode Island USA
Posts: 1,716
Default Re: BestPoDeals, Inc @ bestpodeals.com

I did a whois on it, the server is in Russia, and the registrants email address sends to "cybergal.com". Doesn't look to good to me on the legit-ness of that site.



Opteron 64 165--1.5GB DDR--ECS KA1 MVP(thanks HL!)--x1800GTO 256MB--Seagate 320GB SATA--Antec 550 Watt--Antec P180
Lead Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007   #15
Level 2 College Student
 
Zambini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Mere du SantaCruz
Posts: 2,169
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: BestPoDeals, Inc @ bestpodeals.com

cybergal.com doesn't even exist.

Yes, I had to enter it in my url bar.





Zambini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007   #16
T-Rex
 
polobunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5,316
Blog Entries: 6
Default Re: BestPoDeals, Inc @ bestpodeals.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by stinger608 View Post
Well scam or not, I wouldn't buy anything from them!

Here is a perfect example of how out of sink they really are.

AMD x2 5200 + $269.99

Neweggs price is $129.99:lau gh:

Um hello, whats wrong with that picture
Ya they're totally off on most PC stuff, but other than that there's really pretty good deals to be had. (if it's true)



polobunny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007   #17
I don't know how to put this, but, I'm kind of a big deal.
 
One4yu2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Posts: 2,789
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: BestPoDeals, Inc @ bestpodeals.com

Evidence
*Hard to stock Nintendo Wii selling for $229

*According to a DNS lookup, IP originates from Russia

*According to a DNS lookup, site was created 8/26/07

*According to a DNS lookup, 3 other domains are listed under the same IP, with similar 'deals'

*One of the alternate domains is AltarField, and here's an interesting read with a scammed customer testimonial (LINK)

*Site claims BizRate Circle of Excellence, but isn't listed on BizRate (LINK)

*BizRate Circle of Excellence winners are listed here (LINK), which measures "outstanding performance" from the time period of September 1, 2005 to August 31, 2006, ending a full one year before BestPoDeals' existence on the web

*BestPoDeals claims to qualify for the Better Business Bureau's Reliability Program, yet the BBB contains no info on them


One4yu2c's Verdict
SCAM



One4yu2c is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007   #18
With a pinch of insane!
 
qazwsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, 127.0.0.1
Posts: 649
Default Re: BEWARE: BestPoDeals = SCAM

Do people who run these type of sites/scams have no sence of decency or just plain right/wrong values? It just annoys me how people can scam like that and they will almost certainly get away with it aswell




qazwsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007   #19
Level 2 College Student
 
Zambini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Mere du SantaCruz
Posts: 2,169
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: BEWARE: BestPoDeals = SCAM

You just dealt with the dawg, bitch.

Click the image to open in full size.





Zambini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007   #20
T-Rex
 
polobunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5,316
Blog Entries: 6
Default Re: BestPoDeals, Inc @ bestpodeals.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by One4yu2c View Post
Evidence
*Hard to stock Nintendo Wii selling for $229

*According to a DNS lookup, IP originates from Russia

*According to a DNS lookup, site was created 8/26/07

*According to a DNS lookup, 3 other domains are listed under the same IP, with similar 'deals'

*One of the alternate domains is AltarField, and here's an interesting read with a scammed customer testimonial (LINK)

*Site claims BizRate Circle of Excellence, but isn't listed on BizRate (LINK)

*BizRate Circle of Excellence winners are listed here (LINK), which measures "outstanding performance" from the time period of September 1, 2005 to August 31, 2006, ending a full one year before BestPoDeals' existence on the web

*BestPoDeals claims to qualify for the Better Business Bureau's Reliability Program, yet the BBB contains no info on them


One4yu2c's Verdict
SCAM

Thanks for all the help.



polobunny is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

  HardwareLogic > HL Members Area > HL Lounge

Tags
bestpodeals, beware, scam


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New email scam screwballl Software & OSs 0 April 22nd, 2008 08:03
Speeders Beware! oldman_gamer HL Lounge 3 January 5th, 2008 21:35
Scam Carl Martin Internet/Networking 7 July 10th, 2007 14:26
Fight Simulator X (Dial up beware!) Quakindude Gaming 2 February 25th, 2007 00:44
Eve Online Screen Shots (Dial-up beware) Quakindude Gaming 2 December 19th, 2006 17:27


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 18:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
© HardwareLogic 2005 - 2008. All Rights Reserved


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55